Welcome friends...

I wanted to share this with you, from my new book/PDF, which has a new title: Easy Awakening: The Secret of Inner Peace, True Freedom, and Unconditional Love - Lesson # 41, Shifting from Intellectual Understanding to Felt Experience:

How, then, do we get free of our “story?” It is simple—though, again, not necessarily easy. After all, the conditioning to be a “somebody”—a “person” defined by his or her story, including our ingrained emotional history—is deep-rooted in our psyches.

And this “somebody” we take ourselves to be is always trying to intellectually “understand” what is needed to improve “itself” and make our life situation somehow “better.” And, of course, sometimes this works and sometimes it doesn’t.

Nothing fundamentally changes, however. We are seemingly forever stuck in this identity of being a “person” who is trying to understand things, to figure out what’s best for our life.

But as the process of becoming freer accelerates through doing the awakening practice every time we notice ourselves getting lost in a “story,” we begin see the futility of intellectual understanding.

We see that what we are trying to understand with our minds is just more “story”—and that it just results, in the end, in confusion, a kind of recurring mental masturbation that rarely brings any relief.

As we grasp the limitations of our own mind—that it’s like a dog chasing its own tail—the tendency to want to “understand” falls away, and we relax into being, where we can see what actually is.

We can see more clearly our own thought and reactive patterns, especially our dysfunctional, ego-driven behaviors—the areas in our life where we are still not free

Our awakening then gradually but inevitably becomes more of a felt or embodied experience. We live it more, and talk about it less!

There is nothing we can “do” that will set us free. Only seeing the truth—that we are not this “I” thought/identity we’ve taken ourselves to be all these years—will liberate us.

 

Seeing, in other words, is freeing…

 

Click here to read about my new book, and see my special offer - buy the PDF for just $19.95, and get a FREE 20 - 30 minute private session with me.

Love and blessings,

Jim

End Your Story, Begin Your Life 

My book, End Your Story, Begin Your Life published by Hampton Roads ($16.95) is in paperback. It has been widely-praised as one of the best and clearest guides to being free while fully engaging in the marketplace of daily life. More details on the Books page. Also available as an audiobook.

An article about Jim and his work, by Joyce Tate Dvoren, is in the December 2011 issue of LA Yoga. Titled ‘Three Steps to Freedom,’ it can be read online at http://www.layoga-digital.com/layoga/201112#pg22

New Blog

My blog, which I used to call Reflections on Freedom, and is still on the subject I am most passionate about, is now at my Facebook page, link below. I generally make a new entry several times a week, my current musings - including, sometimes, a piece from one of my books - on this timeless and most important subject.

Wisdom Mailing

Sign up for the free, monthly Wisdom Mailing, which contains a short excerpt from my current writing, plus other news, go to Contact Us on the menu. Type "Wisdom" for the Message Subject.

The Essence of my Teaching

Nonduality, nondual, spiritual, enlightenment, awakening, self-realization, and liberation are all pointers to the ultimate truth of life, but they aren't truth itself.  Meditation, awareness, and mindfulness can help us awaken to the truth, but it is only through direct seeing - "Oh, I am not any thought of or story, and not even this 'I' thought" - that we awaken to who and what we really are. Then we discover the peace, happiness, joy, and love that is our true nature. This is the direct path. the path that leads to the awakening to oneness. 

My work is in the tradition of Jean Klein, Ramana Maharshi, and Nisargadatta, Maharaj, but it is very contemporary, addressing the challenges of our time, and has been compared to Eckhart Tolle, author of Power of Now, Adyashanti, and Deepak Chopra.

  

Jim Dreaver photo

Click HERE to Jim on FaceBook.