Welcome friends...

You are invited to watch my February 2015 90 minute interview with Rick Archer on "Buddha at the Gas Pump." Click here to enjoy.

Below is the introduction to my new book, You are Beautiful as You Are: Three Powerful Teachings that will Change your Life.

Awakening to freedom is the greatest gift you’ll ever give yourself. Every person who has awakened—and there are more and more of us, young and old, throughout the world waking up every day—realizes this. 

When you are awake and free, your mind is clear, your heart open, you are present in this moment. 

You don’t take anything personally, because you are now free of this ego “self” that had judgments, self-esteem issues, and other negative, self-sabotaging “stories.”  

You see everything—including any changes or challenges you may face—with new eyes, with a fresh, inspired perspective.

Moreover, no matter what craziness may be happening in your environment, you always feel good inside yourself—happy and contented, ready for anything.

What is the key to being awake and free? In this book I explore three powerful simple teachings that, as you begin to realize and embody them, will help you awaken fully to your true joy. They will bring you back to the beautiful person you really are…

The three teachings, which are deeply interwoven, are 1st, the freedom practice, which is a way of coming back to this moment now whenever you notice yourself getting lost in or distracted by thoughts or “stories.”

The 2nd is welcoming, or learning to embrace your negative emotional reactions—your upsets, conflicts, and suffering, and the 3rd I call asking the big question, which is going deeply within and asking yourself “Who is the ‘I’ that tells the stories?” 

To celebrate the book’s release, I’m making this special offer to new clients: $37 gets you the PDF and a half-hour Skype or phone session with me.

If ever you’ve thought about a private session with me, now is the time. My alert yet welcoming presence invites you to more deeply relax as we inquire into the unconscious “stories” that still run you. Invariably you will have fresh insights and realizations about yourself, any of which have the potential to be life-changing.

Click here to see offer details and read the subject of each lesson.

Love and blessings,

Jim

End Your Story, Begin Your Life 

My book, End Your Story, Begin Your Life published by Hampton Roads ($16.95) is in paperback. It has been widely-praised as one of the best and clearest guides to being free while fully engaging in the marketplace of daily life. More details on the Books page. Also available as an audiobook.

An article about Jim and his work, by Joyce Tate Dvoren, is in the December 2011 issue of LA Yoga. Titled ‘Three Steps to Freedom,’ it can be read online at http://www.layoga-digital.com/layoga/201112#pg22

New Blog

My blog, which I used to call Reflections on Freedom, and is still on the subject I am most passionate about, is now at my Facebook page, link below. I generally make a new entry several times a week, my current musings - including, sometimes, a piece from one of my books - on this timeless and most important subject.

Wisdom Mailing

Sign up for the free, monthly Wisdom Mailing, which contains a short excerpt from my current writing, plus other news, go to Contact Us on the menu. Type "Wisdom" for the Message Subject.

The Essence of my Teaching

Nonduality, nondual, spiritual,  enlightenment, awakening, self-realization, and liberation are all pointers to the ultimate truth of life, but they aren't truth itself.  Meditation, awareness, and mindfulness can help us awaken to the truth, but it is only through direct seeing - "Oh, I am not any thought of or story, and not even this 'I' thought" - that we awaken to who and what we really are. Then we discover the peace, happiness, joy, and love that is our true nature. This is the direct path. the path that leads to the awakening to oneness.

My work is in the tradition of Jean Klein, Ramana Maharshi, and Nisargadatta, Maharaj, but it is very contemporary, addressing the challenges of our time, and has been compared to Eckhart Tolle, author of Power of Now, Adyashanti, and Deepak Chopra. 

 

 

Jim Dreaver photo
Join Jim on FaceBook.